The Hidden Truth

Click to join Playtest

Player > Weapon > Range > Flamethrower, hellhound-class

Flamethrower, hellhound-class

Starfinder Core Rulebook p.183

Level: 12
Price: 35100
Damage: 4d6 F
Range: 30 ft.
Critical: Burn 4d6
Capacity: 40 petrol
Usage: 8
Bulk: 2
Special: Analog, blast, unwieldy

These portable flamethrowers consist of a heavy rifle-like design with an oversized petrol tank integrated into the weapon’s stock.

Two-handed WeaponsTypeLevelPriceDamageRangeCriticalCapacityUsageBulkSpecialSource
Flamethrower, ifrit-classHeavy27801d6 F15 ft.Burn 1d620 petrol42Analog, blast, unwieldyCRB p.183
Flamethrower, pyre-classHeavy642001d10 F30 ft.Burn 1d820 petrol42Analog, blast, unwieldySFS1 p.18
Flamethrower, salamander-classHeavy886002d6 F30 ft.Burn 2d620 petrol52Analog, blast, unwieldyCRB p.183
Flamethrower, hellhound-classHeavy12351004d6 F30 ft.Burn 4d640 petrol82Analog, blast, unwieldyCRB p.183
Flamethrower, firedrake-classHeavy151280006d6 F30 ft.Burn 6d640 petrol102Analog, blast, unwieldyCRB p.183
Flamethrower, phoenix-classHeavy183675009d6 F30 ft.Burn 9d640 petrol102Analog, blast, unwieldyCRB p.183

Burn

The target gains the burning condition.

Burning

You are on fire. As long as you have this condition, at the start of your turn each round before you take any actions (or attempt the Reflex saving throw described below), you take the listed amount of damage as fire damage (or 1d6 fire damage, if no amount is listed in the effect that causes burning). Fire damage from multiple sources that inflict the burning condition is cumulative.
At the end of each round you are burning, you can attempt a Reflex saving throw to remove this condition. The DC of this saving throw is equal to 10 + the amount of fire damage you took this round from the burning condition. If you succeed at this saving throw, you lose the burning condition. You can attempt a new saving throw each round you have this condition, and you receive a +2 bonus for each previous saving throw you’ve attempted in consecutive rounds.
You can also automatically end this condition by jumping into enough water to douse yourself. If you don’t have enough water on hand, you can spend a full action to roll on the ground or otherwise smother the fire to attempt a new saving throw with a +4 bonus (plus any bonuses from previously failed consecutive attempts) to end the condition.

Analog

This weapon does not use any advanced electronics, computer systems, or electrical power sources. It is immune to abilities that target technology. While this use of the word “analog” is not technically correct when referring to technology, use of the term in this way has become common throughout the Pact Worlds.

Blast

This weapon fires in a cone that extends only to its first range increment. You can’t use it to attack creatures beyond that range.
For each attack you make with a weapon with the blast special property, roll one attack against each target in the cone, starting with those closest to you. Each attack takes a –2 penalty in addition to other penalties, such as the penalty to all attacks during a full attack. Roll damage only once for all targets. If you roll one or more critical hits, roll the extra critical damage only once (or any other special effects on a critical hit that require you to roll) and apply it to each creature against which you score a critical hit. You can’t avoid shooting at allies in the cone, nor can you shoot any creature more than once.
Attacks with blast weapons ignore concealment. A blast weapon doesn’t benefit from feats or abilities that increase the damage of a single attack (such as the operative’s trick attack). Ammunition for blast weapons is designed for blast attacks, so you spend the usage amount only once for each cone of attacks.

Unwieldy

Weapons with the unwieldy special property are large and awkward, can’t be fired without cooling down first, or are otherwise difficult to use with repeated attacks. You can’t use an unwieldy weapon as part of a full attack (or any other action in which you could make multiple attacks), you can’t attack with it more than once per round, and you can’t use it to make an attack of opportunity.

Website owned by Mark von Drake. All content on this website owned by Paizo Inc. Privacy policy can be found here.
Contact: markvondrake@thehiddentruth.info